top of page
Design sans titre.png

LUZZASCHI
Il concerto segreto

In 1580, Alfondo II created a secret ensemble of soprano voices for his court, which would soon spread throughout Europe and perform before a select audience — the Duke and Duchess plus a few other prestigious personalities. At the Duke’s request, this musica riservata was overseen by Luzzasco Luzzaschi (ca1545-1607), who composed works that were perfectly suited to the women’s voices with breathtakingly virtuosic ornamentation in the form of passaggi, diminutions, cadenzas, and trills; the women’s vocal gifts could not have been better presented.

This recording focuses principally on this collection. The remaining works recorded here bear witness to the legacy of the concerto segreto in the decades that followed. 

The works for three female voices (Le tre sirene, Le tre damigelle, Le piante incantate) from Francesca Caccini’s opera La liberazione di Ruggiero dall’isola d’Alcina (1625) are echoes of this practice. Even more intriguing is Claudio Monteverdi’s Come dolce hoggi l’auretta, piece for three sopranos, published posthumously in 1651, and Marenzio’s only piece for three high voices — Belle ne fe’ natura.

 

with the participation of

Yoann Moulin: harpsichord
Manon Papasergio: bass viol & triple harp

Gabriel Rignol: archlute

 

 

 


We would like to thank all the people who have accompanied us since the beginning of this adventure, friends, family, teachers, for their support and advice. You allowed us to create this first record. Thanks to Jérôme Lejeune for his trust and his artistic direction. Finally, a huge thank you to all the people who generously participated in the financing of this recording, and more particularly Sharon Wells, Anne Geisendorf, and Paul DeRosa, donors of La Néréide.

bottom of page

top of page
Design sans titre.png

LUZZASCHI
Il concerto segreto

En 1580, Alphonse II crée pour sa cour un ensemble vocal formé de sopranos : le  « concert secret »,  dont la renommée s’étendra dans toute l’Europe et se produira devant un public trié sur le volet – le duc et la duchesse ainsi que quelques personnalités prestigieuses. Cette musica riservata se voit chapeautée par Luzzasco Luzzaschi (c. 1545-1607), à la demande du duc et celui-ci conçoit sur mesure un chant d’une virtuosité stupéfiante, ornementé, en forme de passaggi, diminuzioni, cadenze, trilles, etc., soulignant leurs dons vocaux. 

 

C’est principalement sur ce recueil de madrigaux que se concentre cet enregistrement. Le reste du disque témoigne de l’héritage du concert secret dans les décennies suivantes. Les extraits à trois voix de l’opéra La liberazione di Ruggiero dall’isola d’Alcina de Francesca Caccini, créé en 1625, sont autant d’échos de cette époque (Le tre sirene, Le tre damigelle, Le piante incantate). Plus intrigante est la seule pièce pour trois sopranos de Claudio Monteverdi, Come dolce hoggi l’auretta, parue de façon posthume en 1651, ainsi que la seule pièce à trois voix aiguës de Marenzio, Belle ne fe’ natura.

avec la participation de


Yoann Moulin: clavecin
Manon Papasergio: basse de viole & harpe

Gabriel Rignol: archlute

Nous tenons à remercier toutes les personnes qui nous accompagnent depuis le début de cette aventure, amis, famille, professeurs, pour leur soutien et leurs conseils. Vous nous avez permis de faire naître ce premier disque. Merci à Jérôme Lejeune pour sa confiance et sa direction artistique. Enfin, un immense merci à toutes les personnes qui ont participé avec générosité au financement de cet enregistrement, et plus particulièrement les grands mécènes de la Néréide.

bottom of page